26 June 2017

RusAF confirms four-year bans for three athletes

The Russian Athletics Federation (RusAF) confirmed the disqualification of three athletes for anti-doping rule violations (ADRVs) uncovered through the International Olympic Committee’s (IOC) reanalysis of samples given at the Beijing 2008 Olympics. Anastasiya Kapachinskaya has been disqualified for four years from the date of her provisional suspension on 1 July 2016 following an adverse analytical finding (AAF) for dehydrochlormethyltestosterone and stanozolol. Inga Abitova is banned for four years following an AAF for dehydrochlormethyltestosterone from 13 June 2016; and Denis Alekseyev was given a four-year ban from 16 November 2016.

All three athletes had previously served sanctions for doping. Kapachinskaya was a member of the women’s 4 x 400 team that took silver in Beijing. She won the 200m at the 2004 International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) World Indoor Championships, but was stripped of the title and banned for two years after testing positive for stanozolol.

Denis Alekseyev was part of the 4 x 400m team that took bronze in Beijing, after he had just returned from a two-year ban after testing positive for dehydrochloromethyltestosterone in June 2013. Inga Abitova, who placed 6th in the 10,000m at Beijing, was given a two-year ban in 2012 for an abnormal haemoglobin profile in her athlete biological passport (ABP).

However, despite the fact that all three athletes had previously served a sanction, it appears that Alekseyev will only be banned until November 2018. ‘The total period of disqualification counted the period of ineligibility for a first violation (two years – from 4 July 2013 to 7 March 2015)’, reads the RusAF statement. ‘Thus, the period of ineligibility for Alekseyev ends on 15 November 2018’.

You may also like...

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This