26th July 2017

Ennis-Hill and US women’s 4x400m team to receive reallocated gold medals in London

The IAAF World Championships London 2017 will rightfully see the reallocation of a number of World Championships medals including two golds. These upgrades follow the disqualification of the results of the original medallists after their sanction for anti-doping rule violations.

The elevation to first place of Britain’s Jessica Ennis-Hill for the 2011 heptathlon title and of the US women’s team for the 2013 4x400m title will take place in the London Olympic stadium just prior to the start of the evening competition session. The USA squad will receive their gold medals on Friday 4 August, the opening evening of the championships, while Ennis-Hill will receive her medal on Sunday 6 August. Both ceremonies will be accompanied by their national anthems and flags.

In total, 11 individual athletes and five teams from across 11 events at four previous IAAF World Championships have accepted invitations to receive their reallocated medals in London. With respect to fellow athletes who have not been able to take up this opportunity, the IAAF is in contact with their national federations to find other occasions to present them their medals.

IAAF President Sebastian Coe commented: “I’m delighted that the athletes are properly honoured for their achievements and what better way than in front of passionate athletics fans at a major championship. For those receiving gold medals, their moment in London will be all the more special as they will hear their national anthem played. Whatever their nationality, clean athletes worldwide will celebrate with them.”

IAAF World Championships medal reallocation ceremonies in London:

PRESHOW in London Olympic Stadium
Time slot – 1800 to 1835hrs in the following order:
4x400m women – Berlin 2009
GBR (promoted from fourth to bronze)
Lee McConnell
Christine Ohuruogu
Vicki Barr
Nicola Sanders
400m women – Daegu 2011
Francena McCorory USA (promoted from fourth to bronze)
4x400m women – Daegu 2011
GBR (promoted from fourth to bronze)
Perri Shakes-Drayton
Nicola Sanders
Christine Ohuruogu
Lee McConnell
400m women – Moscow 2013
Stephenie-Ann McPherson JAM (promoted from fourth to bronze)
4x400m women – Moscow 2013 – with anthem
USA (promoted from silver to gold)
Jessica Beard
Natasha Hastings
Ashley Spencer
Francena McCorory
GBR (promoted from bronze to silver)
Eilidh Doyle (née Child)
Shana Cox
Margaret Adeoye
Christine Ohuruogu
FRA (promoted from fourth to bronze)
Marie Gayot
Lenora Guion-Firmin (absent)
Muriel Hurtis-Houairi
Floria Guei
PRESHOW in London Olympic Stadium
Time slot – 18:00 to 18:50hrs in the following order:
10.000m women – Osaka 2007
Kara Goucher USA (promoted from bronze to silver)
Jo Pavey GBR (promoted from fourth to bronze)
1500m women – Osaka 2007
Irina Lishchynska UKR (promoted from bronze to silver)
Long jump women – Daegu 2011
Ineta Radevica LAT (promoted from bronze to silver)
PRESHOW in London Olympic Stadium
Time slot – 18:00 to 18:35hrs in the following order:
Shot put men – Osaka 2007
Rutger Smith NED (promoted from fourth to bronze)
Heptathlon women – Daegu 2011 – with anthem
Jessica Ennis-Hill GBR (promoted from silver to gold)
Jennifer Oeser GER (promoted from bronze to silver)
After the championship race walk medal ceremonies at The Mall
Time slot – After approximately 16:15hrs
20km race walk men – Berlin 2009
Eder Sanchez MEX (promoted from bronze to silver)
Giorgio Rubino ITA (promoted from fourth to bronze)

• This media release was originally published by the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) on 26 July 2017. To access the original, please click here.

You may also like...

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This